Nepean Minor Hockey Association

Hockey Canada Announces Changes in Division Names

Hockey Canada Announces Changes in Division Names

Hockey Canada has announced changes in the names of hockey age divisions commencing in the 2020-2021 season.
This change aligns with the Hockey Canada brand in being inclusive for all. This change also aligns with International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) age division names. And importantly, we believe that it makes it simpler for parents to register their kids.

Current Name

Age as of December 31

New Name

Initiation Program

6 years old and under

Under-7 (U7)


8 years old and under

Under-9 (U9)


10 years old and under

Under-11 (U11)


12 years old and under

Under-13 (U13)


14 years old and under

Under-15 (U15)


17 years old and under

Under-18 (U18)


20 years old and under*

Under-21 (U21)

*HEO permits a limited number of U22 players to play in the U21 Division.

In competitive hockey, where Major and Minor are currently used, the name of the age division will become the age, for example: Minor Peewee will become U12 and Major Peewee will become U13.
We will be updating the on-line registration system and our forms to accommodate this change prior to opening registration for 2020-2021.

Related Content


Suspension Reporting

NMHA Officials Compliment/Complaint Form

NMHA New Officials Application Form 2018-2019

Affiliation Request

Respect in Sport - Parent Program

Gender Identity and Expression Course

Available Ice